High School Invitational


Registration Deadline – October 14, 2016
To Finalize Application:
Please send checks payable to Indiana ASTA and e-mail confirmation from INASTA to:

Douglas Droste
Ball State University
203 Hargreaves Music Building
Muncie, IN 47306

*Invoice available by checking the box in the registration form.*

Quick Facts

Guest Clincians: (Click for Bio)

Mark Sholl
Michael Hopkins
Bob Hasty

HSOI Contact

Douglas Droste
Ball State University School of Music
203 Hargreaves Music Building
Muncie, IN 47306

3rd Annual HSOI Information

The IN-ASTA Orchestra Invitational will take place on Friday, November 4th, 2016 at Ball State University. The process will run similar to the ASTA National Orchestra Festival.  In three 25-minute segments, each orchestra will receive a warm-up time, performance time (two pieces of director’s choice), and a clinic with one adjudicator after their performance.  An effort will be made to have each orchestra attend at least one other orchestra’s performance. Lunch and travel plans will be at the discretion of the directors. Specific performing time and instructions will be available as soon as possible after the application deadline (October 14, 2016).

For ASTA members:              $75 per orchestra
For non-ASTA members:      $150 per orchestra

Clinicians for 2016 Invitational

Mark Sholl, Director of Orchestra, Hillard High School (Ohio), Coordinator of Music Hillard City Schools
Michael Hopkins, Associate Professor of Music Education, University of Michigan
Bob Hasty, Associate Director of Orchestra, Northwestern University

First Year of HSOI Marked as a Success!!!

The inaugural IN-ASTA Orchestra Invitational was an incredible success! Clinicians Stephen Benham (Duquesne University and current National ASTA President), Louis Bergonzi (University of Illinois), and Ray Ostwald (York Community High School, Illinois) provided excellent critique and live clinics to our participating orchestras. Congratulations to the orchestras and directors of Burris/Indiana Academy (Martha Murphy), Zionsville (Susan Lyons), Fishers (Nicole Deguire), Center Grove (Sarah Belt), Ben Davis (Amy Noble), and Portage (Carrie Ann Carlson) for their outstanding performances as well as their effort to participate in this new venture for the chapter. A special thanks to Karin Hendricks, Douglas Droste, and the students of Ball State University for organizing and hosting the event.

– Doug Droste, Chairman
Copyright 2013 Nimva | All Rights Reserved | RockyThemes