State Leadership

President’s Message

Hello!

I just want to take a minute to introduce myself. I am Johanna Kitchell, and am honored to serve you as the new Indiana ASTA President. I am a 2008 Butler University graduate, and have been teaching at Riverside Junior High in Fishers for the past nine years. Previously, I served INASTA as the Central All-Region Coordinator, then as the Treasurer, and most recently, as President-Elect. I have thoroughly enjoyed my involvement in INASTA, and am proud of what it provides for the growing string education world in Indiana.

I truly look forward to representing this state, and serving you, for the next two years. When I ran for president, my platform was one of connectivity and outreach. We have nearly 300 members in our state; a fantastic community with so much to offer. But I know we are not yet reaching all of those members, and that there are more in our community for whom we can provide. My hope is that members near and far, in our major cities and in our more rural areas, feel the support of INASTA.

I plan to visit as many of our amazing orchestra programs as I can over the next months. I want to listen to your students, and also listen to you. Please, reach out to me, or another member of the board, with your thoughts and ideas. Come to our summer meeting. Send your kids to All-Region, or HSOI, or All-State, or ASTACAP. Attend IMEA. Register for ASTA National 2018 – I hear Atlanta is nice in March! Reach out to us with needs for support. Indiana ASTA is what we make it as a community.

Thank you so much for giving me this opportunity. I look forward to serving this chapter, and to connecting with you.

Sincerely,
Johanna Kitchell
Indiana ASTA, President
www.indianaasta.org

Executive Board

General E-mail:
indianaasta@gmail.com

President President-Elect Treasurer Secretary Past-President
Johanna Kitchell Keith Ziolkowski Kyle Miller Elisabeth Ohly-Davis John Rihani

Event and Coordinator Chairs

Membership Chair
Colleen Phillips
colleen.phillips@fwcs.k12.in.us

Website Editor
Kim Wren
kimberly.wren@evsck12.com

Private Lesson Liaison
Jay Pifiefer
jpfeifer@staff.goshenschools.org

IMEA Liaison
Tom Chen
tchen@ccs.k12.in.us

All-State Coordinator
Nicole DeGuire
ndeguire@hse.k12.in.us

All-State Asst. Coordinator
Zak Tschiniak
ztschiniak@hse.k12.in.us

High School Orchestra Invite
Doug Droste
dpdrsote@bsu.edu

String Day!
Erik Rhode
Erik.Rhode@indstate.edu

North All-Region Honor Orchestra
Sean Patrick
spatrick@goshenschools.org

Central All-Region Honor Orchestra
Ashley Carney
carneya@centergrove.k12.in.us

South All-Region Honor Orchestra
Event Cancelled
Fall 2017

Junior All-State Orchestra
Vacant

ASTA Certificate Advancement Prog.
Colleen Tan & Marcy Trentacosti
tan.colleen@gmail.com / strad4me@gmail.com

IMEA String Sessions
Ben Yoder & Kathleen Swayze
byoder@hse.k12.in.us / IUSwayze@aol.com

Copyright 2013 Nimva | All Rights Reserved | RockyThemes